15/06/2010ESPN 2010 Cancun Governor’s Cup

ESPN Regional Television announced that this year’s 2010 Cancun Governor’s Cup, an eight-team men’s college basketball tournament will be played on December 22nd through the 24th at the Poliforum Benito Juarez in Cancun, Mexico. The tournament will include Appalachian State, Colorado State, East Tennessee State, Ole Miss, Northeastern, Saint Louis, Southern Miss and Texas State.

The Cancun Governor’s Cup supports youth basketball initiatives in Mexico started by the Telmex Foundation and Mexican NBA star Eduardo Najera, which strives to bring the game of basketball to the youth of Mexico. Since initiation of the league in 2007, 60,000 kids from across Mexico have participated. The Cancun Governor’s Cup will annually offer tickets to the league for kids to experience the thrill and excitement of collegiate basketball firsthand. The arena is located on Boulevard Luis Donaldo, a few minutes from the Cancun International Airport and was opened last year as the home of the Pioneros Quintana Roo, the basketball team of the state of Quintana Roo. For ticket or travel information, visit www.cancungovernorscup.com